California Alpha Scholarships and Chapter Awards

William O. Morgan Scholarship

Established in 1947 in honor of Brother William O. Morgan, Berkeley Class of 1887, an active and dutiful alumnus up through the 1950’s, this yearly award serves to reward active brothers for academic excellence at UC Berkeley. Brother Morgan devoted his life to the security and stability of the Fraternity and to the brothers of California Alpha, and this scholarship highlights brothers devoted to their cultivation of sound learning.

Charles E. Stuart Scholarship

Established in 1957 in honor of Brother Charles E. Stuart, Berkeley Class of 1906, a proud brother of Phi Delta Theta, this semesterly award serves to reward active brothers of California Alpha for both continued and improved academic achievements. Awards are distributed to the brothers with the first, second, and third highest GPAs in the chapter, the brother with the most improved GPA from the previous semester, and the Phikeia with the highest GPA.

Phi of the Year

The Brother of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding Phi of the California Alpha Chapter of Phi Delta Theta whose brotherhood, scholarship, moral rectitude, and service to the fraternity is of the highest caliber. The chapter gives the award to the active brother who best embodies the spirit and principles of the fraternity in his daily living.

Alumni of the Year

The William K. Tuck Honorary Alumni Award, also referred to as Alumni of the Year, was established in honor of Brother “King” Tuck, Berkeley Class of 1961, for his many years of outstanding service to the Phi Delta Theta Fraternity. Brother Tuck served as a member of the California Alpha Association for many years, and he continues to be a dedicated and involved alumnus. The chapter gives the award to the alumnus who exemplifies that same exceptional commitment.